The American Family (H)…

Good Evening World! The Thunder beat the Spurs. I didn’t expect that, but it makes for a good Western Conference Finals. I am feeling awesome. Excited about what lies ahead, while being grateful for Delta College… Maybe I will blog about that in depth before the semester officially closes. Plus, I made a 98 on my last Statistics test (49/50). I am pissed, I wanted the 50/50. My classmate right next to me got the perfect score, F!!!!! But that’s my guy though… Now the “ramble…”

The Stephanie Coontz article was informative, but it was not really my reality. Nor was it the reality of people I was close with. The funny thing is that I have yet to meet a Black person who raves of the “goodness of the American 1950s,” so I approach these topics from a purely educational perspective. Part of the dynamic is that the article describes aspects of life that should be normal. But people I was raised by just wanted to be treated as humans. They just wanted equal human rights. Now, I did have a few relatives who were “The Help” for some of the families described in this article. Maybe I can put my Aunt Pearl and great-grandmother’s stories into this blog. I will touch on just one point that really stuck out while reading this work. That is our outdated model of marriage and family.

I believe it is true that we as a society have this outdated model regarding marriage and family. For example, Dr. Mersmann has mentioned how our politicians are attempting to fix our economy using the 1950s model. This article really illustrated the same trains of thought. We have extremely outdated senses of the family unit. The women are more active outside of the home. They are not just housewives anymore. They actually are contributing financially to the family. The man/husband is not just some mere figure. He is actually more engaged in the life of his kids these days. Men are more involved in the home-life of family. Lastly, communication is more prominent. The days are gone when families just swept issues under the rug. The elephants in the room are being discussed. People, especially women, are speaking their minds. Things have just changed.

I like the path that we are on as it relates to family structure. I think in the end families will become healthier. I just can’t wait for the day when we tossed this outdated model of family. PEACE!

Leave a comment