1.1 The Engaged Sociologist

1.       I think the purpose of higher education is to equip citizens with the requisite skills and knowledge so that one is better able to contribute to society.

2.       I decided to go to college because I want to have the credentials and skills necessary to compete in our society. Also, I wanted to acquire the knowledge required to help shape my community. I wanted to become informed about the structure and functions of the world I live in. hence me choosing to major in Sociology.

3.       I do believe a college education will help me become a citizen. I will be a more informed person. I will also have what my society deems as an asset. My higher education experience will force me to be an agent for change.

4.       (Read)

5.       It related in part but not whole. The main reason being is that I was not thinking in broader terms. I need to think in larger terms and more relative to society as a whole.

6.       An educated public is necessary for a democratic society because people are more informed. Since people will be more informed hopefully that will lead to community engagement. There will be more of a burden to participate in society and the influences of said society.

7.       No, public education is not attainable for all Americans. One primary reason is the fact that college is so expensive. Tuitions have risen while college funding has decreased. State funding has obviously not been able to keep up with the rising costs. This causes a great problem for society, because lesser informed citizenry is not as engaged with the community. Higher education, in many aspects, plant seeds of civic engagement. When citizens are priced-out of higher education, that means less people engage in the issues of society. Using my sociological eye, I would like to research why the tuition rates are rising at this rate and state funding decreasing. Using research, I would hope to show the ills that happen in society when they public is less informed. Figuring out ways to highlight this epidemic would put pressure on legislators to change this.

Leave a comment